Prime Minister Laptop Scheme 2017 Distribution and Eligibility

Prime Minister’s national Laptop Scheme is a part of a special initiative called as Prime Minister’s Youth Program. The current Prime Minister of Pakistan, Nawaz Sharif launched this scheme in the year 2013 and it will extend for five years. The Youth Program comprises of Prime Minister’s Interest Free Loan Scheme, Prime Minister’s Youth Business Loans, Prime Minister’s Youth Training Scheme, Prime Minister’s Youth Skills Development Scheme and Prime Minister’s Fee Reimbursement Scheme for Students from Less Developed Areas and Prime Minister’s Laptops Scheme.

The main goal of this scheme is to enhance quality of research and education of youth by providing them tools of the modern era.


In order to register yourself in this programme, go to

It is the official website of Higher Education Commission. A student’s service portal is set-up on this website, to help the students register themselves for the laptop scheme. Higher Education Commission will consider only those students for the laptop scheme who have registered online. The link for direct registration is

Fill the online registration form with care and honesty.


So the merit list criteria for Prime Minister’s Laptop Scheme, as outlined by Higher Education Commission is:

⦁ Students of intermediate first year will get 50% of the allocated quota of laptops based on merit list.

⦁ Students now in their 2nd year of 16 year undergraduate programme will get 20% of the allocated quota of laptops based on merit list.

⦁ 3rd year students of Bachelor’s programme will receive 10% of the reserved quota.

⦁ 10% of the reserved quota of laptops are for the fourth year Bachelor program’s students and 1st year Master program’s students (5% for each)

⦁ 10%  of the reserved quota of laptops are for the fifth year Bachelor program’s students and 2nd year Master program’s students (5% for each)


The distribution criteria for Laptop Scheme are as follows:

Provincial distribution corresponding to enrolment share, proportionate to the overall enrolment of students in the higher education institutes, except

Students mentioned in below categories.

All the students enrolled PhD, MPhil, MS or equivalent program students in any public sector university. Higher Education Commission has published the list of eligible universities.

2.5% Quota for distant learners/ students of each Virtual University & Allama Iqbal Open University.

5% Quota for students studying in Government Polytechnic institutes or Government College of Technology.

5% Quota for students of degree and postgraduate colleges of Federal Capital and Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

Remaining laptops for students studying in Bachelor and Master (16 year) program of public sector higher education institute.


Every year, The Higher Education Commission distributes 100,000 laptops among the students all over the country, as per Prime Minister’s orders. There is a limited number of laptops and students enrolled in universities and colleges is quite high. So, distribution of these laptops among students is purely on merit basis. The Higher Education Commission prefers students who are in the beginning of their academic year, so that they can avail most benefit out of this initiative.

⦁ The Higher Education Commission will consider those students for merit list who have secured 60% marks (for annual system) or 70% marks (for semester system) or equivalent CGPA/ GPA in last examination.

⦁ The Higher Education Commission will convert the obtained CGPA/GPA according to their specified formulae.

⦁ The Project Steering Committee will decide the scheme of distribution of any leftover laptops from any distribution level (i.e. Academic level, Departmental, Campus, Institutional, or Provincial Allocation).



The Higher Education Commission has published a list of eligible universities. These universities are The Higher Education Commission recognized and students enrolled in these universities will receive a laptop. It is as follows:

Abdul Wali Khan University Mardan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Air University Islamabad, Federal Capital

Allama Iqbal Open University Islamabad, Federal Capital

Bacha Khan University Charsadda, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Bahauddin Zakariya University Multan, Punjab

Bahria University Islamabad, Federal Capital

Balochistan University of Engineering & Technology Khuzdar, Balochistan

Balochistan University of IT, Engineering & Management Sciences Quetta, Balochistan

Benazir Bhutto Shaheed University Lyari and Karachi Campus, Sindh

COMSATS Institute of Information Technology Islamabad, Federal Capital

Dawood College of Engineering & Technology Karachi, Sindh

DOW University of Health Sciences Karachi Sindh

Fatima Jinnah Women University Rawalpindi, Punjab

Federal Urdu University of Arts, Sciences & Technology, Islamabad Federal Capital

Gambat Institute of Medical Sciences Khairpur, Sindh

Ghazi University Dera Ghazi Khan, Punjab

Gomal University D.I.Khan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Government College for Women University, Faisalabad, Punjab

Government College for Women University Sialkot, Punjab

Government College University, Lahore Punjab

Government College University, Faisalabad, Punjab

Government Sadiq College Women University Bahawalpur, Punjab

Hazara University Dodhial – Mansehra, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Information Technology University of the Punjab, Lahore Punjab

Institute of Business Administration, Karachi, Sindh

Institute of Management Science, Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

Institute of Space Technology, Islamabad Federal Capital

International Islamic University, Islamabad Federal Capital

Islamia College University, Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of Science & Technology Bannu, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of Sindh Jamshoro, Sindh

University of Swabi Swabi, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of Swat , Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of the Punjab, Lahore Punjab

University of Turbat Turbat, Balochistan

University of Veterinary & Animal Sciences, Lahore Punjab

Virtual University of Pakistan, Lahore Punjab

Sindh Madressatul Islam University, Karachi, Sindh

Sukkur Institute of Business Administration Sukkur , Sindh

The Women University, Multan, Punjab

University of Agriculture, Faisalabad, Punjab

University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir Muzaffarabad and Azad Jammu & Kashmir

University of Balochistan, Quetta Balochistan

University of Education, Lahore Punjab

University of Engineering & Technology, Lahore Punjab

University of Engineering & Technology Taxila, Punjab

University of Engineering & Technology, Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of FATA Kohat, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of Gujrat  Gujrat, Punjab

University of Haripur Haripur, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of Health Sciences, Lahore Punjab

University of Karachi, Karachi, Sindh

University of Loralai Loralai, Balochistan

University of Malakand  Chakdara – Malakand, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of Management Sciences and Information Technology, Kotli  Kotli and Azad Jammu & Kashmir

University of Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa

University of Poonch Rawalakot, Azad Jammu & Kashmir

University of Sargodha Sargodha, Punjab

Women University of Azad Jammu & Kashmir Bagh Azad Jammu & Kashmir

The complete list of these universities is available on official website of Higher Education Commission,

Leave a Reply